Browse Collections (17 total)


The Nanjing Decade (南京时期) (1927-1937)

The Nanjing decade refers to a ten-year period in which the Nationalist Party led by Chiang Kai-Shek formed a government having ousted both the…

View the items in The Nanjing Decade (南京时期) (1927-1937)

The Nationalist Party (国民党)

The Nationalist Party came to power after the overthrow of the Qing Dynasty which was supported by their founder, Sun Yet-Sen. After ceding the…

View the items in The Nationalist Party (国民党)

The Sino-Japanese War (抗日战争) 1937-1945

In 1937, fully-fledged war broke out with Japan after their imperialist aggression could no longer be tolerated by Chiang Kai-Shek. The Japanese won…

View the items in The Sino-Japanese War (抗日战争) 1937-1945
northern expedition.png

The Warlord Era 1911-1928 军阀时代

After the Xinhai Revolution, a military general, Yuan Shikai, instrumental in forcing the Qing Dynasty to abdicate, ruled over China in a dictatorial…

View the items in The Warlord Era 1911-1928 军阀时代

The Xinhai revolution 1911 (辛亥革命)

At the beginning of the 20th Century, China, the most populous nation in the world was still ruled by an absolute monarchy. The rise of foreign…

View the items in The Xinhai revolution 1911 (辛亥革命)

The Yan'an Period (延安时期)(1936-1947)

The Yan'an period refers to the Communist Party base area in Northern China beyond Nationalist control. From here, the Chinese Communist Party…

View the items in The Yan'an Period (延安时期)(1936-1947)